Fuck to the yes!!

I haven’t gotten a chance to post about my doctors appointment on Monday. It went fucking fantastic. When I was at my neurologist for Botox, I asked him about trying a different opioid. Not necessarily more, but something different. I’ve been on Percocet for 20 years, and I really don’t think it’s doing much in the painkilling department anymore. He said he didn’t really have any objection, but he’s never prescribed anything other than Percocet so he wasn’t really comfortable. He suggested I go to my family doc, and if my family doctor turned me down, to come back and he would do some research. Which is totally fair.

So I call my family doctor, to find out that he’s out of town on vacation and he has a locum covering for him. So I explain the situation to the receptionist, who’s known me for 15 years, and she suggested I go ahead and come in. So Monday afternoon, I went in. It took like 40 minutes before the actual appointment because they just moved to a new clinic space, and so they were taking everybody’s height and weight which was less than I thought, so that’s good, and entering everybody’s drugs into the computer. I didn’t know the dosage of most of the drugs I was on, and I offered to call the pharmacy and find out, but the nurse or nurses aide or whoever said it was fine and they would just reconcile it later.

Anyway, the locum was a young woman and I just explained exactly what I was hoping for. She offered me a stronger dose of OxyContin without the acetaminophen, and I said that I’d taken more Percocet than you are technically supposed to in the past, and I was interested in trying something new. Toradol does nothing for me, and Advil works really well, and they’re both NSAIDS. So it seems reasonable to me that a different drug in the same class might work better for me.

She said that I clearly had a long and refractory history and much as they like to not give opioids out, it seemed appropriate in my case. Then she offered me a referral to a pain clinic I’ve never heard of, where she did her residency, where I guess they do lidocaine and trigger point injections. So I left with a prescription for a summer’s worth of Dilaudid, and a pending referral.

I had a horrible migraine the next day, tied to the weather, so had a chance to try it and it’s amazing. The only problem is that it knocks me right out. Which is OK, I don’t really want to be conscious during a migraine, but it doesn’t mean that I won’t be able to work if I take it.

So I won’t have to buy sketchy drugs off the darknet after all, ha ha.

Leave a Reply

