Two days in the life.

8 am – Leave to catch the bus.
9 am – Arrive at the hospital to get ketamine at nine.
12:15 pm – Allowed to leave (They want you to stay two hours after your treatment ends)
12:30 pm – Catch bus home
1:15-1:45 – Feed cat, and myself
1:45-2:15 – Nap for half an hour (feeling exhausted)
2:20 – Leave for neurologist appointment @2:45
3:10 – Leave neurologist with a face full of Botox
3:15 – drop triplicate prescription off at drugstore
3:20 – drive to work
3:45 – arrive at work
4:00-5:45 – Super important work meeting. Boss asks if I can get the work done by the end of the next day. I say of course.
5:45-5:55 – I had a migraine onset during the meeting, so I need to get on top of it now. Ransack my desk and purse and realize I don’t have any triptans (migraine specific drugs) with me. Shit! Take a Tylenol 3, a stiff shot of CBD extract and start drinking a Pepsi.
6:00 pm – Start working on stuff for Super Important Project Deadline from the meeting. Since I didn’t get to work until almost 4 o’clock, I’m going to have to stay here all night. Besides, the idea that I could wake up with a migraine tomorrow and not be able to make it into work is stressful, so I want to try and finish this tonight.
6:30 – Symptoms getting worse. Give myself a needle full of Gravol.
6:45 – So drowsy! I start drinking a Pepsi.
11:55 pm – I’m done my work, hallelujah!
12:15 am – Stop at pharmacy to pick up prescriptions.
12:30 am – Arrive home. Check email, get into bed and try to unwind.
1:30 am – Fall asleep

Wednesday:
10:00 am – finally manage to wake up after multiple alarms. Soooo tired.
10:45 am – I gotta have a shower.
11:25 am – Leave for 12:00 pm massage appointment.
12:00 pm – The Botox made a noticeable difference. My face and head are much more relaxed, but my neck shoulders and upper back are a crunchy mess. The massage is more painful than relaxing, but I know it will feel better later on.
1:30 pm – Arrive at work and stop for a flat white (2 shots espresso) on the way.
1:35 pm – Arrive at my desk. Take 2 Dexedrine and hope it will help me be alert.
2:35 pm – Call to reschedule my 4:00 pm doctor’s appointment. The idea of driving to it and it eating up work time is stressing me out.
6:00 pm – I should be working until 8:30 at least but I’m just tired and fried.
7:30 pm – Give up and go home. It’s just been “presenteeism” for the last couple of hours anyway.
8:00-9:00 pm – Pay bills, look up upcoming pay dates, update budget
9:00-9:51 pm – Organize and refill meds, so I have some in my purse, some for at work and some for at home.
9:51-10:15 pm – Eat something.

So… where is the time for fun? Or housecleaning? Or cooking and packing lunches? Or socializing? I thought maybe if I kept a diary I’d see where the time was going, but it sems like it is work, migraine, or doctor’s appointments 24/7. I think having chronic migraines in the summer is depressing in and of itself.

Leave a Reply

