Some progress.

I saw my neurologist today and got my Botox injections (finally). I asked him what he thought about the steroids and he thought 50 mg was enough to use one time to knock a migraine out, that they didn’t have to be “stepped down” at 60/40/20 over a few days like I’d read. So he prescribed me some more prednisone. That’s fine.

Then I asked about a different opioid. He said Percocet was the strongest he prescribed and I said “not stronger necessarily, different” and he said that he actually never prescribed anything other than Percocet so he had no problem with my having Dilaudid (I mentioned they came in 1 mg which would be less than a single Percocet) but could I ask my family doctor for it, and if he (GP) said no he would do a little research.

So I called my GP’s clinic and found that my GP is actually away and there’s a “really good” doc covering for him. I told the receptionist, who has known me for 15 years now, that I needed a prescription that my neurologist had no problem with me having but wasn’t used to prescribing himself, and she didn’t think it would be a problem. So I’m going there tomorrow for that.

In the meanwhile once I got back to work I started having a truly massive headache and realized that I didn’t have ANY triptans with me or in my desk – not a Frova or a Zomig to be found anywhere – so took some CBD extract, an Advil, a Tylenol-3 and a needle full of Gravol. I could technically work from home but I’m afraid I’ll only sleep because my head hurts so much. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

