My parents are visiting, and I hate it.

I hate it when they come. I hate feeling like a horrible person for not being able to just suck it up when they annoy the living crap out of me.

There is a sweet little hotel literally at the end of my block but they don’t like it because it’s not a chain (?!?), so they are staying like waaay on the outskirts of town. I saw a sign for “infill” and explained that is totally what I want to do when I buy a house, and then they went on and on about how they live in the suburbs in the middle of Big Box Land and they LOVE it, which is like the 7th circle of hell for me – we just have totally opposite values which I get and they just sort of don’t.

I tried to suggest to my dad that I not meet them for breakfast tomorrow morning because we were not getting along anyway, and they want to get an early start which means I have to leave to drive there an hour before I ever leave for work on a weekday, and but my dad was like “Oh no, so we’ll see you at 8:30, that’ll be good” because they want to pretend we actually get along I guess?

Ugh. I need to go to bed, I’m probably not even making sense anymore, but I could just cry because I have to go into work tomorrow, and for the next 6 days straight, and they stress me out. I don’t enjoy it. I don’t like it, I don’t think I like them, we have nothing in common, and then I feel even guiltier because I couldn’t just let it roll off my back and they play it like I just randomly “fly off the handle” and they are magnanimous enough to forgive me. Ugh. Awful.

Leave a Reply

