Lukewarm.

I know I’m not as depressed as I have been, and in a strange way I wish I was.

I know that “cleansing tears” is a cliche phrase, and that when you are so depressed that you can cry and cry and not stop it seems odd to call it cleansing because you are never cleansed. Still, there was something comforting about feeling that deeply, about being so engrossed in sadness that the details of life just faded into the background. Now, instead, I feel like a blend of Julianne Moore and Ed Harris — “But I still have to face the hours, don’t I?”

Leave a Reply

