A list of the careers my health has stolen from me

Careers I would have liked the freedom to choose, or not:

  • Military/police
  • Pilot/air traffic controller
  • University prof
  • Medical personnel (medical tech, EMT, nurse, etc)
  • Any entry level job (retail, foodservice, etc)
  • Reporter/writer for a weekly or daily publication
  • Chef

 

Basically any job where you can’t call in sick two dozen days a year and still keep your job.  If I work full time, I can make up hours if I work on a flexible schedule…the problem with that is that if I have a sick day and make up the time that is essentially a six-day week for me.  I then have to do chores on day 7 because I need to make hay while the sun shines, which means socializing and relaxation get pushed to the backseat, which increases my stress and fatigue, which increases the chance of migraine.

Leave a Reply

