Who profits, and who rewards?

I have been watching Intervention reruns.  Partly it is hopeful and optimistic — look at how these people turn their lives around, and how much better they look after recovery!  Then part of me is… bitter? Jealous? Resentful?  I’m not sure.  Maybe a mixture of things.  So they do drugs, or drink, and their families rally around them, and they get three months of full-time inpatient treatment… a pretty sweet situation, actually!

Applying for permanent government disability came up today in my counselling session (a weekly event.). It just isn’t enough to live on unless you don’t have to pay rent. It’s a tiny set amount, not relative to your earning capacity or anything.  The counsellor asked, isn’t there some kind of subsidized government housing?  Welp, if I had kids, they would put me up…

just frustrating to think that I might be better off if I were a drug addict, or had gotten knocked up… but I’ve done all rhe right things, and I’m trying so hard!

 

 

Leave a Reply

