Why is it so fucking hard to shower?

I bought a can of dry shampoo (Batiste, highly reviewed) and used it this morning before work.  I’m not proud of this, and I wondered if I was giving in to weakness by buying it in the first place.  The evidence of the past few weeks, however, shows that it isn’t a choice between “dry shampoo” and “real shampoo”, it’s a choice between “dry shampoo” and “go to work with greasy fucking hair and pull it back in a clip so hopefully it looks like product and not grease.”

I don’t know why showering is so hard but it always has been when I’m depressed.  I even went out and bought a set of colourful gels from Bath and Body Works and some new fluffy towels so showering would be a Sensory Treat but it just seems… hard.  Maybe not the getting in part; it’s as if I have used up all my energy by the time I’m done washing and then… I have to dry myself off and hang up the towels and dry my hair some more and comb it and oh are you serious I didn’t even shave my legs so after all that work I still only feel half done?  Are you kidding me?

So, tonight I showered, because it sure won’t happen in the morning.

Leave a Reply

