Nov. 18, 2013: The Anesthesia Consult

I had my anesthesia consult today, so I will start treatment tomorrow morning. i’ve packed myself a little bag, with a blank journal, a book of puzzles, and something to read.

The anesthetist was this tiny, delicately boned lady with this gorgeous Irish accent. She greeted me and asked me how I was doing and I replied “fine thanks”, and she squeezed my arm and said “if that were true you wouldn’t be here would you?”

She explained that there was no difference between an anesthetist and an anesthesiologist, which cleared up one mystery at least. or rather, that although the different terms are used in different areas, there is no practical difference. She said that where they have nurse anesthetists, like the US, they are less likely to use the same title for (for lack of a better word) doctor anesthetists.

As I hoped, they have no concerns with giving me general anesthetic.

I also met the two ECT nurses. One is young and fun, while the other is middle-aged, and they both seem nice.

Leave a Reply

